Public-domain · open source
OpenJurist

110 F.4th 1273

Lewis v. McDonough

U.S. Courts of Appeals

Decided August 1, 2024

U.S. Courts of Appeals · decided 2024-08-01

Applies 38 U.S.C. § 511 · 38 U.S.C. § 7104 · 38 U.S.C. § 7292

Relies on Disabled American Veterans v. Secretary of Veterans Affairs · Donovan v. West · Disabled American Veterans v. Secretary of Veterans Affairs

Decided 2024-08-01

Case: 23-1298   Document: 34     Page: 1   Filed: 08/01/2024




   United States Court of Appeals
       for the Federal Circuit
                 ______________________

                NORAH R. LEWIS, SR.,
                  Claimant-Appellant

                            v.

       DENIS MCDONOUGH, SECRETARY OF
              VETERANS AFFAIRS,
               Respondent-Appellee
              ______________________

                       2023-1298
                 ______________________

    Appeal from the United States Court of Appeals for
 Veterans Claims in No. 21-2201, Judge Joseph L. Toth.
                 ______________________

                 Decided: August 1, 2024
                 ______________________

     SEAN A. RAVIN, Miami, FL, argued for claimant-appellant.

     EVAN WISSER, Commercial Litigation Branch, Civil Division, United States Department of Justice, Washington,
 DC, argued for respondent-appellee. Also represented by
 BRIAN M. BOYNTON, MARTIN F. HOCKEY, JR., PATRICIA M.
 MCCARTHY; EVAN SCOTT GRANT, Y. KEN LEE, Office of General Counsel, United States Department of Veterans Affairs, Washington, DC.
                  ______________________

   Before LOURIE, SCHALL, and TARANTO, Circuit Judges.
Case: 23-1298    Document: 34     Page: 2    Filed: 08/01/2024




 2                                      LEWIS v. MCDONOUGH




 SCHALL, Circuit Judge.
      Norah R. Lewis, Sr. appeals the December 12, 2022 decision of the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans
 Claims (“Veterans Court”) in Lewis v. McDonough,
 No. 21-2201, 
2022 WL 17576398
 (Vet. App. Dec. 12, 2022).
 In that decision, the Veterans Court affirmed the
 March 22, 2021 decision of the Board of Veterans’ Appeals
 (“Board”) that sustained the decision of the Department of
 Veterans Affairs (“VA”) Regional Office (“RO”) reducing
 Mr. Lewis’s disability rating for post-traumatic stress disorder (“PTSD”) from 70 percent to 30 percent. For the reasons stated below, we affirm.
                        BACKGROUND
                              I
     Mr. Lewis is a U.S. Army veteran who receives service-connected disability compensation for combat-related
 PTSD, due to his experiences in the Korean War. In 2009,
 the VA increased his disability rating for PTSD from
 30 percent to 70 percent. Lewis, 
2022 WL 17576398
, at *1.
 Subsequently, however, following a recommendation made
 in July 2015, in a rating decision dated July 21, 2016, the
 RO reduced his rating back to 30 percent. J.A. 162. In its
 decision, the RO informed Mr. Lewis that, based upon evidence from a rating decision dated July 9, 2015, a VA examination dated September 12, 2015, and VA outpatient
 treatment records dated October 2, 2015, it had determined
 that the severity of his disability most closely approximated the criteria for a 30 percent disability evaluation.
 J.A. 163. Mr. Lewis timely appealed the RO decision to the
 Board.
      The Board issued a decision on Mr. Lewis’s appeal in
 April of 2018, sustaining the RO’s decision. The Board’s
 decision was vacated by the Veterans Court, however, and
 the case remanded to the Board, after Mr. Lewis and the
 VA Secretary (“Secretary”) agreed that the Board needed
 to issue a new decision because it had failed to address material evidence favorable to Mr. Lewis. Lewis, 2022 WL
Case: 23-1298    Document: 34      Page: 3    Filed: 08/01/2024




 LEWIS v. MCDONOUGH                                          3



 17576398, at *1. In November of 2019, the Board issued a
 second decision. After Mr. Lewis again appealed to the
 Veterans Court, though, the court again granted the parties’ joint motion to vacate and remand, this time because
 the Board had failed to comply with the prior remand order. 
Id.
                              II
     On remand to the Board for the second time, Mr. Lewis
 raised an argument that he had not previously presented.
 He contended that the July 2016 rating decision implementing the reduction in his disability compensation from
 70 percent to 30 percent was void ab initio. 
Id.
 According
 to Mr. Lewis, this was so because, when the RO found improvement in his condition and reduced his compensation,
 it had failed to make a finding required by 
38 C.F.R. § 3.344
(a). Section 3.344(a) provides that, for ratings that
 have remained unchanged for five years or more, “though
 material improvement in the physical or mental condition
 is clearly reflected[,] the rating agency will consider
 whether the evidence makes it reasonably certain that the
 improvement will be maintained under the ordinary conditions of life.” 
38 C.F.R. § 3.344
(a); see also 
id.
 § 3.344(c)
 (indicating that § 3.344(a) applies to “ratings which have
 continued for long periods at the same level (5 years or
 more)” and not “disabilities which have not become stabilized and are likely to improve”); Hanser v. McDonough,
 
56 F.4th 967, 971
 (Fed. Cir. 2022) (interpreting the parenthetical phrase “(5 years or more)” in § 3.344(c) to be definitional). Mr. Lewis concluded his argument to the Board
 on the July 2016 rating reduction with the following statement:
     [T]he question before the Board is not whether Mr.
     Lewis’[s] PTSD has improved or whether any purported improvement would be sustained under the
     ordinary conditions of life. Rather, the question before the Board is whether the [RO], in its July 2016
     decision reducing benefits made a finding that any
     purported improvement would be sustained under
Case: 23-1298     Document: 34      Page: 4    Filed: 08/01/2024




 4                                        LEWIS v. MCDONOUGH




     the ordinary conditions of life. Here, it is clear that
     the [RO] made no such finding, and nothing in its
     decision could be reasonably read as such a finding.
     Because of this, regardless of the relative merit one
     may ascribe to a finding of improvement in
     Mr. Lewis’[s] condition, because the [RO] did not
     make the required finding, its decision is void ab
     initio and must be reversed. Once benefits are restored, the VA remains free to initiate new proceedings aimed at reducing Mr. Lewis’[s] benefits, but
     it must do so within the confines of the strict procedural safeguards that have been established in
     law.
 J.A. 47.
     In its March 2021 decision, the Board began by stating
 that the record showed that Mr. Lewis’s PTSD “materially
 improved under the ordinary conditions of life so as to warrant a reduction from 70 percent to 30 percent for [his] service-connected disability.” J.A. 21. Next, the Board
 examined and summarized the October 2009 private examination that led to Mr. Lewis’s 70 precent rating and the
 seven medical examinations of Mr. Lewis that were conducted by the VA thereafter in April 2011, September 2011,
 December 2014, May 2015, September 2015, November
 2015, and April 2016. J.A. 22–26. Stating that the issue
 before it was whether the RO was proper in reducing Mr.
 Lewis’s evaluation at the time the RO proposed to reduce
 the evaluation in July 2015 and at the time the RO reduced
 the evaluation in July 2016, the Board found that the record of multiple VA examinations and VA treatment records
 from 2011 to 2016 showed improvement in Mr. Lewis’s condition. The Board concluded:
     Thus, by the time of the April 2016 VA examination, the improved symptoms had been shown for
     five years, which the Board finds is indicative of
     sustained improvement under the ordinary conditions of life, as the improved symptoms were maintained during this five-year period of time, which
Case: 23-1298     Document: 34      Page: 5   Filed: 08/01/2024




 LEWIS v. MCDONOUGH                                          5



     the Board finds would be indicative of a disability
     being maintained under the ordinary conditions of
     life.
 J.A. 32–33.
     Accordingly, the Board found that the disability rating
 reduction to 30 percent, which was effectuated by the rating decision of July 2016, was in accordance with the requirements of 
38 C.F.R. § 3.344
(a). It therefore refused to
 restore the 70 percent evaluation. J.A. 33.
                              III
     On appeal to the Veterans Court, Mr. Lewis repeated
 the argument that he had made to the Board—that the
 July 2016 rating decision was procedurally deficient. Mr.
 Lewis stated: “Although the [RO] found that Mr. Lewis’s
 condition had improved, it did not find, as required by
 [38 C.F.R.] § 3.344(a) that there had been ‘material improvement’ that was ‘reasonably certain . . . [to] be maintained under the ordinary conditions of life.’” J.A. 425
 (third alteration in original).
      The Veterans Court rejected Mr. Lewis’s argument and
 affirmed the decision of the Board. The court stated that
 “[n]othing in the text of § 3.344 suggests that the RO has a
 requirement to issue certain findings in reduction cases.”
 Lewis, 
2022 WL 17576398
, at *2. The court explained that
 § 3.344 “guides the Agency as to how to approach a rating
 reduction case,” in that it tells the VA what to review in the
 record, limits the types of evidence it may use in making a
 decision and provides for certain considerations to be taken
 into account (“whether the evidence makes it reasonably
 certain that the improvement will be maintained under the
 ordinary conditions of life”). Id. “But,” the court stated,
 “there is no language in § 3.344 commanding the RO to issue those findings first lest the reduction have no effect.”
 Id. Finding that the Board had made the required findings
 in its decision, the Veterans Court affirmed the Board’s decision. Id. at *3. Mr. Lewis timely appealed.
Case: 23-1298     Document: 34      Page: 6    Filed: 08/01/2024




 6                                        LEWIS v. MCDONOUGH




                          DISCUSSION
                               I
      On appeal, as he did before the Board and the Veterans
 Court, Mr. Lewis argues that the July 2016 rating decision
 was void ab initio. Mr. Lewis posits that the plain language of 
38 C.F.R. § 3.344
 makes it clear that a rating decision in effect for five or more years at the same level, like
 his 70 percent rating, can only be reduced if certain procedural safeguards are met. Among these and relevant to
 this case, he states, is the requirement of 
38 C.F.R. § 3.344
 that a “rating agency will consider whether the evidence
 makes it reasonably certain that the improvement will be
 maintained under the ordinary conditions of life.” Appellant’s Br. 15 (quoting 
38 C.F.R. § 3.344
(a) (emphasis
 added)). 1 Mr. Lewis continues that the plain language of
 the regulation requires that the rating agency “will consider,” and that consideration can only be demonstrated by
 making the necessary finding in a rating decision. “Requiring that the rating agency consider a factor without requiring that agency to make that finding on the record would
 render the regulatory command meaningless.” 
Id.
 In making this argument, Mr. Lewis relies on Brown v. Brown,
 
5 Vet. App. 413
, 417–19, 421–22 (1993), and Stern v.
 McDonough, 
34 Vet. App. 51
, 59 (2021), which he argues
 stand for the proposition that an RO decision can be


     1   It is undisputed that the term “rating agency” in
 
38 C.F.R. § 3.344
 refers to a VA regional office. See
 
38 C.F.R. § 3.104
(a) (“A decision of a VA rating agency is
 binding on all VA field offices as to conclusions based on
 the evidence on file at the time VA issues written notification in accordance with 38 U.S.C. [§] 5104. A binding
 agency decision is not subject to revision except by the
 Board of Veterans’ Appeals, by Federal court order, or as
 provided in §§ 3.105, 3.2500, and 3.2600.”); see also Oral
 arg. at 15:02–16:00 (May 8, 2024) (counsel for the government acknowledging that “rating agency” refers to the RO).
Case: 23-1298     Document: 34      Page: 7   Filed: 08/01/2024




 LEWIS v. MCDONOUGH                                          7



 rendered void ab initio for failure to make specific findings
 pursuant to 
38 C.F.R. § 3.344
.
      The Secretary argues that nothing in the text of § 3.344
 or any related regulation requires that a rating decision be
 based exclusively on statements in the RO’s decision without reference to the Board’s subsequent findings and decision. The Secretary acknowledges that 
38 C.F.R. § 3.105
(e)
 requires that a rating decision reducing a disability evaluation for a service-connected disability set forth “all material facts and reasons” and that the VA notify the veteran
 of the proposed reduction in evaluation. The Secretary also
 acknowledges that § 3.344 sets forth certain requirements
 regarding stabilization of disability evaluations. The Secretary states, however, that “Mr. Lewis cites no authority
 suggesting that, if the RO’s proposed notice and reduction
 decision are deficient, a subsequent decision by the [B]oard
 that affirms the reduction and provides adequate reasons
 and bases would not be sufficient to cure such a defect.”
 Appellee’s Br. 11. The Secretary therefore urges us to affirm the decision of the Board.
                               II
     Our jurisdiction to review decisions of the Veterans
 Court is limited. We may review the validity of a decision
 with respect to a rule of law or interpretation of a statute
 or regulation that was relied upon by the Veterans Court
 in making its decision. 
38 U.S.C. § 7292
(a). However, except with respect to constitutional issues, we may not review challenges to factual determinations or challenges to
 the application of a law or regulation to the facts of a case.
 
Id.
 § 7292(d)(2). In reviewing a Veterans Court decision,
 we decide “all relevant questions of law, including interpreting constitutional and statutory provisions,” and we
 set aside any interpretation thereof “other than a determination as to a factual matter” relied upon by the Veterans
 Court that we find to be “(A) arbitrary, capricious, an abuse
 of discretion, or otherwise not in accordance with law;
 (B) contrary to constitutional right, power, privilege, or immunity; (C) in excess of statutory jurisdiction, authority, or
Case: 23-1298     Document: 34       Page: 8   Filed: 08/01/2024




 8                                        LEWIS v. MCDONOUGH




 limitations, or in violation of a statutory right; or (D) without observance of procedure required by law.”               Id.
 § 7292(d)(1).
      We have jurisdiction over Mr. Lewis’s appeal because
 it raises an issue of regulatory interpretation. We review
 questions of regulatory interpretation de novo. Cavaciuti
 v. McDonough, 
75 F.4th 1363, 1366
 (Fed. Cir. 2023).
                               III
     Two regulations are at issue in this case. The first is
 
38 C.F.R. § 3.105
(e). It provides in relevant part as follows:
     Where the reduction in evaluation of a service-connected disability or employability status is considered warranted and the lower evaluation would
     result in a reduction or discontinuance of compensation payments currently being made, a rating
     proposing the reduction or discontinuance will be
     prepared setting forth all material facts and reasons.
      The second regulation at issue is 
38 C.F.R. § 3.344
(a).
 It sets forth certain requirements that must be met before
 the VA reduces a disability rating. As noted above, as relevant to this appeal, § 3.344(a) states that “though material improvement in the physical or mental condition is
 clearly reflected[,] the rating agency will consider whether
 the evidence makes it reasonably certain that the improvement will be maintained under the ordinary conditions of
 life.” 
38 C.F.R. § 3.344
(a).
      Thus, in its decision reducing Mr. Lewis’s disability
 rating for PTSD from 70 percent to 30 percent, pursuant to
 § 3.105(e) the RO was required to set forth “all material
 facts and reasons” for the reduction. See Breland v.
 McDonough, 
22 F.4th 1347, 1352
 (Fed. Cir. 2022) (“Section
 3.105(e) plainly states that prior to implementing a disability rating reduction that would ‘result in a reduction or
 discontinuance of compensation payments currently being
 made,’ all material facts and reasons for such a reduction
Case: 23-1298     Document: 34      Page: 9    Filed: 08/01/2024




 LEWIS v. MCDONOUGH                                           9



 must be laid out.”) (quoting 
38 C.F.R. § 3.105
(e)). This included “all material facts and reasons” bearing on the requirement in § 3.344(a) that the VA “consider” whether the
 improvement it had found in Mr. Lewis’s condition would
 be “maintained under the ordinary conditions of life.” It is
 undisputed that, in its July 2016 rating decision, the RO
 failed to state any “facts and reasons” bearing upon the
 question whether the improvement in Mr. Lewis’s condition that it had found would “be maintained under the ordinary conditions of life.” As seen, it is for this reason that
 Mr. Lewis argues that the decision of the RO was void ab
 initio and that his 70 percent rating should be reinstated,
 effective the date it was reduced.
      We do not agree. While it is undisputed that the RO
 failed to make the findings required by § 3.105(e), it also is
 undisputed that, in its March 2021 decision, the Board did
 make those findings. Then, as set forth in Part II of the
 BACKGROUND section above, the Board’s decision examined
 at length the record of Mr. Lewis’s pertinent medical history, beginning in 2009 and continuing through 2016. And
 based upon that examination, the Board found that the
 RO’s reduction of Mr. Lewis’s disability rating was fully
 supported by the record. And, the Board also found that
 the fact that Mr. Lewis’s improved symptoms were maintained during the relevant five-year period of time was “indicative of a disability being maintained under the
 ordinary conditions of life.” J.A. 32–33. Indeed, at oral argument, counsel for Mr. Lewis acknowledged that if the RO
 had made the findings the Board did, Mr. Lewis would not
 have asserted that the July 2016 RO decision was void ab
 initio. Oral arg. 5:12–40 (May 8, 2024) (“If you cede that
 the Board’s decision contained all that information . . . and
 the rating decision did not contain that information . . . if
 you were to switch them then you might find . . . or believe
 that that rating decision shouldn’t be void ab initio because
 it complies with all the requirements of 3.105(e) and
 3.344(a).”).
Case: 23-1298     Document: 34     Page: 10    Filed: 08/01/2024




 10                                       LEWIS v. MCDONOUGH




     Contrary to Mr. Lewis’s argument, Brown and Stern do
 not broadly stand for the proposition that an RO decision
 is rendered void because of the RO’s failure to make findings under § 3.105(e) and § 3.344. In Brown, the Veterans
 Court held that the Board’s decision failed to comply with
 the requirements of § 3.344(a) and other regulations applicable to rating reductions. 5 Vet. App. at 419–20. In that
 case, the Board had also erred by requiring, in a reversal
 of the burden of proof, that the veteran prove by a preponderance of evidence that he was entitled to an unreduced
 rating. Id. at 421–22. Accordingly, the Veterans Court set
 aside the Board’s decision reducing the veteran’s rating as
 “not in accordance with law.” Id. at 422. In Stern, the Veterans Court reversed the Board’s decision and reinstated
 an original disability rating where, similar to Brown, the
 Board had failed to make a finding necessary for the lawful
 reduction of a disability rating. 34 Vet. App. at 59. In doing so, the Court discussed the role of the regulations pertaining to rating reductions, stating:
      [T]he Court has held that reversal and reinstatement is the appropriate remedy where VA has not
      provided the procedural protections afforded in
      § 3.105(e), because failure to afford notice and an
      opportunity to present additional evidence as outlined in that regulation “deprive[s a veteran] of the
      regulatory process that VA created to help veterans
      adjust to a reduction in disability compensation
      payments and to submit evidence or argument to
      contest such an action.”
 Id. at 56 (quoting Murphy v. Shinseki, 
26 Vet. App. 510, 516
 (2014)). Thus, as the Veterans Court correctly observed in Mr. Lewis’s case, “Brown held, and Stern reaffirmed, that, if the Board fails to make the required
 findings under § 3.344, the [RO’s] reduction is void ab initio.” Lewis, 
2022 WL 17576398
, at *3. In short, neither
 Brown nor Stern held that the Board’s findings cannot cure
 a deficiency in an RO decision.
Case: 23-1298    Document: 34      Page: 11    Filed: 08/01/2024




 LEWIS v. MCDONOUGH                                         11



     The Board is an appellate body within the VA that has
 jurisdiction under 
38 U.S.C. § 7104
 to review decisions
 made under 
38 U.S.C. § 511
(a). Disabled Am. Vets. v. Sec’y
 of Vets. Affs., 
327 F.3d 1339
, 1346 (Fed. Cir. 2003). As we
 have explained, “[t]ogether, §§ 511(a) and 7104(a) dictate
 that the Board acts on behalf of the Secretary in making
 the ultimate decision on claims and provides ‘one review on
 appeal to the Secretary’ of a question ‘subject to decision by
 the Secretary’ under § 511(a).” Id. at 1347. The Board conducts de novo review of RO proceedings based on the entire
 record. Disabled Am. Vets. v. Sec’y of Vets. Affs., 
419 F.3d 1317, 1319
 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (first citing 
38 U.S.C. § 7104
(a);
 and then citing Donovan v. West, 
158 F.3d 1377, 1381
 (Fed.
 Cir. 1998)). Accordingly, what the Board did here was fully
 consistent with the role assigned to it in the statutory
 scheme and as required by the pertinent regulations: it
 made the ultimate decision regarding Mr. Lewis’s disability rating based on the entire record and taking into account the requirements of § 3.105(e) and § 3.344(a). In
 doing so, it satisfied the VA’s duty to follow the procedural
 protections in place for ratings reductions.
                         CONCLUSION
    For the foregoing reasons, we affirm the decision of the
 Veterans Court affirming the decision of the Board.
                         AFFIRMED
                            COSTS
 No costs.

/110/f4th/1273 · .json · Public domain