Public-domain · open source
OpenJurist

141 F.4th 1260

Deal v. Collins

U.S. Courts of Appeals

Decided June 27, 2025

U.S. Courts of Appeals · decided 2025-06-27

Applies 38 U.S.C. § 7292

Relies on Bond v. Shinseki · Beraud v. McDonald

Decided 2025-06-27

Case: 23-2214    Document: 49     Page: 1   Filed: 06/27/2025




   United States Court of Appeals
       for the Federal Circuit
                  ______________________

                  ANNETTE R. DEAL,
                   Claimant-Appellant

                             v.

       DOUGLAS A. COLLINS, SECRETARY OF
             VETERANS AFFAIRS,
               Respondent-Appellee
              ______________________

                        2023-2214
                  ______________________

    Appeal from the United States Court of Appeals for
 Veterans Claims in No. 21-6401, Judge Michael P. Allen.
                 ______________________

                  Decided: June 27, 2025
                  ______________________

    KENNETH DOJAQUEZ, Carpenter Chartered, Topeka,
 KS, argued for claimant-appellant.

     JOSHUA E. KURLAND, Commercial Litigation Branch,
 Civil Division, United States Department of Justice, Washington, DC, argued for respondent-appellee. Also represented by TANYA KOENIG, MARTIN F. HOCKEY, JR., PATRICIA
 M. MCCARTHY, YAAKOV ROTH.
                   ______________________

      Before DYK, REYNA, and STARK, Circuit Judges.
Case: 23-2214    Document: 49      Page: 2    Filed: 06/27/2025




 2                                            DEAL v. COLLINS




 REYNA, Circuit Judge.
      Annette R. Deal appeals a final decision of the United
 States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims denying her
 an earlier effective date for her service-connected psychiatric disorder. We affirm.
                         BACKGROUND
     Mrs. Deal served in the United States Navy from 1977
 to 1981, and in the United States Army from 1983 to 1984.
 J.A. 2. On October 18, 1991, Mrs. Deal filed a claim for
 compensation for Cushing’s syndrome and a nervous condition (“1991 Claim”). J.A. 17. In a July 1992 rating decision, a regional office (“RO”) of the Department of Veterans
 Affairs (“VA”) denied Mrs. Deal’s claim for lack of service
 connection. J.A. 18. Within the appeal period for the
 July 1992 rating decision, Mrs. Deal received treatment for
 her disorder, which resulted in a 1993 medical record or
 records being associated with Mrs. Deal’s claim file (“1993
 Record”). J.A. 19; J.A. 116–17. The VA did not explicitly
 address whether the 1993 Record met the requirements of
 
38 C.F.R. § 3.156
(b) to be treated as having been filed in
 connection with her 1991 Claim until almost thirty years
 later, in a June 2021 Board of Veterans’ Appeals (“Board”)
 decision.1 J.A. 116–17. Mrs. Deal did not appeal the
 July 1992 rating decision. J.A. 108.
     On March 10, 1995, Mrs. Deal filed another claim for
 compensation for Cushing’s syndrome and psychiatric impairments (“1995 Claim”). J.A. 26–30. The RO eventually
 granted Mrs. Deal’s 1995 Claim for service connection for


     1    The government contends that in 1996, the VA implicitly determined that the 1993 Record did not meet the
 requirements of § 3.156(b). Appellee Br. 21–23. We need
 not reach this contention, nor Mrs. Deal’s argument that
 the government’s contention is unreviewable, Appellant
 Reply Br. 5 n.1, given our resolution of this appeal.
Case: 23-2214      Document: 49    Page: 3    Filed: 06/27/2025




 DEAL v. COLLINS                                             3



 Cushing’s syndrome with an effective date of March 10,
 1995, but did not grant service connection for psychiatric
 conditions. J.A. 35.
      On August 1, 2003, Mrs. Deal filed a third claim for service-connected depression and anxiety secondary to her
 Cushing’s syndrome (“2003 Claim”). J.A. 116. This claim
 led to a March 2016 Board decision granting service connection for a condition it characterized as Mrs. Deal’s psychiatric disorder. J.A. 41. As a result of the Board’s
 March 2016 decision, the RO assigned Mrs. Deal’s psychiatric disorder an effective date of August 1, 2003.
 J.A. 62–63. The effect of the Board’s March 2016 decision
 is central to Mrs. Deal’s argument on appeal.
     Mrs. Deal appealed the RO’s effective date determination for her psychiatric disorder to the Board, arguing that
 she was entitled to an effective date of October 1991, or, in
 the alternative, March 10, 1995. J.A. 65–66; J.A. 74–79.
 Mrs. Deal asserted that she was entitled to an earlier effective date because her 1991 and 1995 Claims remained
 open at the time she was granted benefits in March of 2016.
 J.A. 74–75. She argued that her claims remained open because the VA had failed to address whether certain new
 evidence that she submitted within the relevant appeal period for her 1991 and 1995 Claims, including the 1993 Record, met the requirements of § 3.156(b). Id. On June 1,
 2021, the Board granted Mrs. Deal’s request for an effective date of March 10, 1995, ruling that Mrs. Deal timely
 presented new and material evidence in 1997 of a psychiatric disorder and the VA needed to treat this evidence as
 having been filed in connection with her 1995 Claim under
 § 3.156(b). J.A. 117–18. The Board denied Mrs. Deal’s request for an effective date of October 1991, ruling that the
 alleged new and material evidence relating to her 1991
 Claim, i.e., the 1993 Record, was new evidence, but not material. J.A. 116–17. Accordingly, the Board ruled that
 § 3.156(b) did not apply to the 1993 Record and thus the
 July 1992 rating decision was final. Id.
Case: 23-2214    Document: 49      Page: 4    Filed: 06/27/2025




 4                                            DEAL v. COLLINS




      Mrs. Deal appealed the Board’s June 1, 2021 decision
 to the United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims
 (“Veterans Court”). Mrs. Deal argued that the Board erred
 in ruling that the 1993 Record was not material.
 J.A. 159–66. In the alternative, Mrs. Deal argued that regardless of whether the 1993 Record was material, the VA
 had not yet addressed the 1993 Record at the time of the
 Board’s March 2016 decision granting her benefits.
 J.A. 166–72. According to Mrs. Deal, under § 3.156(b),
 her 1991 Claim remained open in March 2016, such that
 the Board’s March 2016 decision adjudicated her 1991
 Claim, not only her later claims. Id. On February 21,
 2023, the Veterans Court affirmed the Board’s grant of the
 March 10, 1995 effective date, finding that a plausible basis supported the Board’s ruling that the 1993 Record was
 not material and thus the July 1992 rating decision was
 final. J.A. 4–5. The Veterans Court rejected Mrs. Deal’s
 alternative argument, stating that it was “perplexed” by
 this argument, which it described as a “rather strange theory.” J.A. 5.
     Mrs. Deal appeals the Veterans Court’s denial of her
 alternative argument about the correct interpretation of
 § 3.156(b). We have jurisdiction under 
38 U.S.C. § 7292
.
                    STANDARD OF REVIEW
     Our jurisdiction to review a decision of the Veterans
 Court is limited. We review the validity of a Veterans
 Court decision “on a rule of law or of any statute or regulation . . . or any interpretation thereof” that the Veterans
 Court relied on in making its decision. 
38 U.S.C. § 7292
(a).
 Additionally, this court may not, unless a constitutional
 challenge is presented, “review (A) a challenge to a factual
 determination, or (B) a challenge to a law or regulation as
 applied to the facts of a particular case.” 
38 U.S.C. § 7292
(d)(2).
Case: 23-2214      Document: 49    Page: 5    Filed: 06/27/2025




 DEAL v. COLLINS                                            5



                         DISCUSSION
     Mrs. Deal raises a legal challenge to the Veterans
 Court’s interpretation of 
38 C.F.R. § 3.156
(b) and our decisions in Bond v. Shinseki, 
659 F.3d 1362
 (Fed. Cir. 2011),
 and Beraud v. McDonald, 
766 F.3d 1402
 (Fed. Cir. 2014).2
 We first review the legal authorities that Mrs. Deal relies
 on.
     In relevant part, § 3.156(b) states that “[n]ew and material evidence received prior to the expiration of the appeal period . . . will be considered as having been filed in
 connection with the claim which was pending at the beginning of the appeal period.” § 3.156(b). Our decisions in
 Bond and Beraud explain that § 3.156(b) requires the VA
 to assess whether “any evidence submitted during the relevant period . . . constitutes new and material evidence relating to the old claim.” Bond, 
659 F.3d at 1367
; Beraud,
 
766 F.3d at 1405, 1407
. Notably, in Beraud, we stated that
 until the VA assesses such evidence, “the claim at issue remains open.” Beraud, 
766 F.3d at 1407
.
     Mrs. Deal argues that the Board did not address
 whether the 1993 Record was new and material evidence
 in connection with her 1991 Claim until June 2021. Thus,
 according to Mrs. Deal, under § 3.156(b) and our precedent,
 her 1991 Claim remained open when the Board granted her
 service connection in March 2016 for her psychiatric disorder. As such, she contends the Board’s March 2016 decision adjudicated her open 1991 Claim, not only her later
 claims, and thus the VA should have considered whether
 to use the date of application of her 1991 Claim, i.e., October 18, 1991, as the effective date for her service-connected
 psychiatric disorder.



     2   Mrs. Deal does not challenge the Veterans Court’s
 ruling on the materiality of the 1993 Record. Appellant
 Reply Br. 1–4.
Case: 23-2214     Document: 49      Page: 6    Filed: 06/27/2025




 6                                             DEAL v. COLLINS




     The government responds that the VA’s delay in addressing whether evidence submitted during the appeal period of a prior claim is new and material under § 3.156(b)
 does not automatically entitle the claimant to the benefit
 of an earlier date of application for purposes of determining
 an effective date. Appellee Br. 19. Instead, the claimant
 may only be entitled to an earlier effective date if, on remand, the VA determines that the proffered evidence is
 new and material and reconsiders the prior claim accordingly. Id. at 18–20. We agree with the government.
     We must look to the language of the pertinent regulation, which states: “New and material evidence received
 prior to the expiration of the appeal period . . . will be considered as having been filed in connection with the claim
 which was pending at the beginning of the appeal period.”
 § 3.156(b). On its face, the regulation does not speak to the
 consequences of the VA’s failure to address whether evidence is new and material prior to a grant of benefits. The
 regulation does, however, state that the precondition for
 evidence to be considered “as having been filed in connection with the [prior] claim” is that the evidence must be
 “[n]ew and material[.]” Id.
     We turn next to our decisions in Bond and Beraud. In
 Bond, this court held that § 3.156(b) requires the VA to “assess any evidence submitted during the relevant period
 and make a determination as to whether it constitutes new
 and material evidence relating to the old claim.” Bond, 
659 F.3d at 1367
. There, the VA had not yet met this obligation, so we remanded the matter “for a determination as to
 whether [the claimant’s submission] contain[ed] new and
 material evidence relating to his [prior] claim.” 
Id.
 at
 1368–69 (citation omitted). Similarly, in Beraud, we “reaffirm[ed] that, under § 3.156(b), the VA must provide a determination that is directly responsive to the new
 submission and that, until it does so, the claim at issue remains open.” Beraud, 
766 F.3d at 1407
. Again, the VA had
Case: 23-2214      Document: 49    Page: 7    Filed: 06/27/2025




 DEAL v. COLLINS                                            7



 not yet met its obligation, so we remanded the matter. 
Id. at 1403, 1407
.
     Neither Bond nor Beraud support Mrs. Deal’s position.
 Bond and Beraud recognize that § 3.156(b) requires the VA
 to provide a responsive determination to evidence submitted during the relevant period. Bond, 659 F.3d at 1367–68;
 Beraud, 
766 F.3d at 1407
. Neither case provides that if the
 VA grants benefits for a subsequent claim before it fulfills
 its obligation to provide a responsive determination for a
 prior related claim, then the VA must consider whether to
 apply the date of application of the prior related claim
 when determining the effective date of the intervening
 grant of benefits. Instead, both Bond and Beraud recognize
 that if the VA has not yet met its obligation to provide a
 responsive determination, the proper course of action is for
 the reviewing tribunal to remand for the VA to make such
 a determination. Bond, 659 F.3d at 1368–69; Beraud, 
766 F.3d at 1407
. Put differently, a claim awaiting a responsive determination under § 3.156(b) remains “open” for the
 limited purpose of requiring the VA to make the responsive
 determination.
      Once the VA makes a responsive determination, one of
 two things may happen. If the VA decides that a submission presents new and material evidence, then § 3.156(b)
 requires the VA to treat the new evidence “as having been
 filed in connection with the [prior] claim[.]” § 3.156(b). If
 the VA decides that the submission at issue does not meet
 the new and material evidence requirements of § 3.156(b),
 then the evidence should not be treated “as having been
 filed in connection with the [prior] claim[.]”3 Id. As such,
 while the claimant in the first scenario may be entitled to


     3   This is precisely what occurred in the present case.
 The Veterans Court affirmed the Board’s ruling on remand
 that the 1993 Record was not material, J.A. 4–5, a ruling
 that Mrs. Deal does not challenge before this court.
Case: 23-2214    Document: 49       Page: 8   Filed: 06/27/2025




 8                                            DEAL v. COLLINS




 an effective date corresponding to the date of application of
 its prior claim, the claimant in the second scenario would
 not be. This is true regardless of whether the VA fails to
 make its responsive determination prior to granting benefits.   To hold otherwise would render meaningless
 § 3.156(b)’s requirement that evidence must be deemed
 new and material for the regulation to be applicable.
                        CONCLUSION
      We have considered Mrs. Deal’s remaining arguments
 and find them unpersuasive. For the reasons stated, we
 affirm.
                        AFFIRMED
                            COSTS
 No costs.

/141/f4th/1260 · .json · Public domain