¶1This is an action for wrongful death, which arose from a traffic accident the evening of January 12, 1968. All roads were bare and dry at the eastern edge of Caldwell, where Interstate Highway 80 passes beneath an overpass bearing traffic on Franklin Road. A pickup truck driven by Hazel G. Dawson, accompanied by her husband, Nathaniel C. Dawson, turned from the Interstate and stopped behind a semi-trailer truck parked on the exit ramp leading to an intersection with Franklin *638Road. Behind their pickup truck another car approached. When the semi-trailer truck began again to move, the three vehides proceeded up the remainder of the ramp toward the intersection.
¶2At the same time, one mile east on Franklin Road, a westbound driver was approached by a 1956 Mercury from the rear and passed at an apparent speed of ninety miles per hour. The Mercury proceeded toward the point where Franklin passes over Interstate 80.
¶3At the intersection, the semi-trailer truck stopped again in compliance with a stop sign. There was a stop line twenty feet beyond at the edge of the intersection, and a traffic signal flashing red to ramp traffic and amber to vehicles traversing Franklin Road. As he slowed, the truck driver from his vantage point in the cab could see, beyond the crest of the overpass to his left, the lights of the Mercury approaching on Franklin Road. When he entered the intersection and turned left on Franklin Road, the trailing vehicles, which had stopped behind him, began to ease forward.
¶4The driver of the last vehicle saw the pickup ahead of him proceed slowly toward the intersection without stopping at the stop sign or stop line. He noticed that the steel guard rails along Franklin Road reflected light from the oncoming Mercury’s headlights, while that car was still hidden behind the crest of the overpass. The driver of the semi-trailer truck had completed his turn and was on Franklin Road crossing the overpass. At that time the Mercury passed in the opposite direction at an estimated speed of 55 to 60 miles per hour. Glancing into his rear-view mirror, the truck driver observed the pickup roll into the intersection, and witnessed a flaming collision which took four lives.
¶5The police investigation established that the impact, which was not preceded by skid marks of the Mercury, occurred in the westbound lane of Franklin Road. The Dawsons were killed when their pickup was struck broadside. Two occupants of the Mercury died in the fire which engulfed that car. Only its driver, Ronald T. Olson, an uninsured motorist, survived the accident. Subsequent alterations to the overpass and interchange provided the occasion for some disagreement concerning the speed limit in force at the time of the accident. An engineer who examined the Department of Highways’ records testified that those records showed the overpass posted at 35 miles per hour. One of the Dawsons’ sons said he saw the signs the night of the accident. A photograph taken one week after the accident showed one such sign facing eastbound traffic. However, Olson’s mother testified that she drove Franklin Road the day following the accident, and saw no such signs. She claimed they were installed later. Absent the 35 miles per hour signs, the applicable speed limit would have been 50 miles per hour.
¶6On September 17, 1968, the Dawson heirs brought a wrongful death action against Olson. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company petitioned to intervene because, as the Dawsons’ insurer under a policy containing uninsured motorist coverage, it had a vital interest in the determination of Olson’s liability, if any. The parties stipulated that State Farm could intervene, and the petitition was granted. After the case was set for trial, this Court issued its opinion in Smith v. State,
¶7Motions by defendant and by the intervenor for involuntary dismissal under I.R. C.P. 41(b) or directed verdict under Rule 50(a), at the close of plaintiffs’ case and at the close of all evidence, were denied. The jury returned a verdict for plaintiffs, awarding them $75,000. Defendant and intervenor moved for judgment n.o.v. or new trial under Rule 50(b)-, while plaintiffs’ counsel moved to compel the intervenor to pay attorney fees. On November 27, 1970, the court granted judgment n.o.v. and denied the motion for attorney fees.
¶8When this Court gave prospective effect to the holding in Smith v. State, we departed from the traditional view that at all times overruling decisions “discover” the “true” law and take retroactive effect because prior decisions lose their force.
“[This] argument may be a bit intellectually untidy, but it may offer the best alternative to judicial paralysis on the one hand, and wholesome frustration of legitimate expectations on the other.”8
¶9The practice of overruling prospectively except as to the litigants then at bar has been adopted in sovereign immunity cases by the courts of Illinois
¶10The general issue of contributory negligence in this case turns on more narrow questions of negligence per se and proximate cause. When a motor vehicle statute provides that under specified circumstances certain acts shall or shall not be done, for protection of other motorists, it fixes a standard of conduct from which it is negligence per se to deviate without justifiable excuse.
¶11It appears that Mrs. Dawson was negligent per se in failing to stop as required by statute,
¶12Appellants argue that Mrs. Dawson’s ability to see down Franklin Road was limited to 475 feet by the design of the overpass, while Olson was approaching at a velocity somewhere between 55 to 60 miles per hour (81 to 88 feet per second) and 90 miles per hour (132 feet per second). Though she may have seen the reflections of headlights on the guard railings when Olson was farther away, she could not have gauged from them his distance or speed. From these facts appellants conclude, first, that even had Mrs. *641Dawson stopped completely she would have continued into the intersection. Since any stop from idling speed would have been momentary, the pickup would still have advanced far enough to obstruct Olson’s lane at the critical moment. Consequently, failure to stop did not proximately cause the accident. Secondly, failure to yield was not a violation of statutory duty because the combination of restricted visibility and Olson’s high speed prevented Mrs. Dawson from apprehending the immediate hazard posed by the approaching car. I.C. § 49-729(b), upon which the jury was properly instructed, expresses the duty to yield in terms of immediate hazard:
“Except when directed to proceed by a police officer or traffic control signal, every driver of a vehicle approaching a stop intersection indicated by a stop sign shall stop as required by section 49-751 and after having stopped shall yield the right of way to any vehicle which has entered the intersection from another roadway or which is approaching so closely on said roadway as to constitute an immediate hazard, but said driver having so yielded may proceed and the drivers of all other vehicles approaching the intersection shall yield the right of way to the vehicle so proceeding.” (Emphasis supplied).
¶13Reasonable men may evaluate these arguments differently. The factual problems created by Olson’s excessive speed and Mrs. Dawson’s limited range of vision do not lend themselves facilely to a single, reasonable conclusion. The conflict of reasonable views precludes us from joining the trial court in substituting our analysis for that of the jury. When all inferences are drawn in favor of appellants, the verdict is sufficiently supported by substantial evidence that it should not be set aside.
¶14Appellants have challenged the trial court’s denial of a motion to compel payment of their attorney fees by the intervenor, State Farm Mutual, under I.C. § 41-1839.
¶15In the present case, it appears from the first rule that no amount could be *642“justly due” unless or until the district court otherwise enters judgment for appellants. The motion for new trial is pending, and no allowance of attorney fees as compensation may be made prior to final judgment. The statute does not compel, nor does Carter require, the “further” payment of attorney fees if the appellants’ action fails. The second rule requires no further discussion because it does not govern a single action against the insurer and uninsured motorist.
¶16The order granting summary judgment below is affirmed; but the order granting judgment n.o.v. is vacated. Cause is remanded for further proceedings consistent with this opinion. Costs to respondent Department of Highways and to appellants.
¶17. 93 Idaho 795, 473 P.2d 937 (1970).
¶18. The Smith holding was framed to take effect sixty days after adjournment of the First Regular Session of the Forty-First Idaho Legislature unless legislative action on sovereign immunity were taken in that session. On March 20, 1971, the Idaho Tort Claims Act became law. I.C. § 6-901 et seq.
¶19. See, e. g. Blackstone, Commentaries on the Laws of England, Vol. I, § 83, pp. 116-120 (Jones ed., 1915).
¶20. 287 U.S. 358, 53 S.Ct. 145, 77 L.Ed. 360 (1932). Cardozo’s language removed from constitutional concern the issues relating to prospective application of overruling decisions. Those issues subsequently have become questions of “judicial policy rather than of judicial power.” See generally, Annotation, Prospective or Rettroactive Application of Overruling Decision, 10 A.L.R.3d 1371, 1378.
¶21. Failure of the Department of Highways to procure liability insurance until Smith was decided evidenced its actual reliance on the doctrine. The degrees of vigor with which accidents were investigated or of the care with which evidence was preserved may also have reflected reliance on immunity to suit. Cf. Spanel v. Mounts View School Dist. No. 621, 264 Minn. 279, 118 N.W.2d 795, 804 (Minn.1962).
¶22.We recognize that in many instances it may be unnecessary to reward the successful litigant to jnovide an incentive to appeal application of an existing but discredited doctrine. Even if an overruling decision were entirely prospective in effect, “[s]uffieient incentive would remain, however, to those litigants who-conduct a business in which the question to be decided is likely to arise again in the future. And a chance for a favorable decision on appeal would exist wherever there was a possibility of convincing the appellate court that the facts in the particular case did not merit prospective application of the decision.” Note, Prospective Operation of Decisions Holding Statutes Unconstitutional or Overruling Prior Decisions, 60 Harv.L. Rev. 437, 440 (1947). In the torts area, the likelihood that an injured party will undertake extended and costly litigation without hope of compensation, simply to establish a new doctrine, is slight unless the injury is recurring in nature. Smith arose from a single incident, an automobile accident on a bridge maintained by the Department of Highways. Only by applying the decision to the plaintiffs at bar could their legitimate interest in compensation, after trying and appealing the issue, have been satisfied.
¶23. Schaefer, The Control of “Sunbursts”: Techniques of Prospective Overruling, 24th Annual Benjamin N. Cardozo Lecture, 1967, reprinted in 42 N.Y.U.L.Rev. 631, 638 (1967).
¶24. Currie, Suitcase Divorce in the Conflicts of Laws, 34 U.Chi.L.Rev. 26, 62 (1966).
¶25. Molitor v. Kaneland Community Unit Dist. No. 302, 18 Ill.2d 11, 163 N.B.2d 89 (1959), cert. denied, 362 U.S. 968, 80 S.Ct. 955, 4 L.Ed.2d 900 (1959).
¶26. Holytz v. City of Milwaukee, 17 Wis.2d 26, 115 N.W.2d 618 (1962).
¶27. See, e. g., Rosenberg v. Toetly, 93 Idaho 135, 456 P.2d 779 (1969); Riley v. Larson, 91 Idaho 831, 432 P.2d 775 (1967); Bale v. Perryman, 85 Idaho 435, 380 P.2d 501 (1963).
¶28. Bell v. Carlson, 75 Idaho 193, 198, 270 P.2d 420 (1954).
¶29. See I.C. § 49-751 (d).
¶30. See I.C. § 49-729.
¶31. E. g., Loosli v. Bollinger, 90 Idaho 464, 413 P.2d 684 (1966); Otts v. Brough, 90 Idaho 124, 409 P.2d 95 (1965).
¶32. I.C. § 13-219 provides, “tliat whenever there is substantial evidence to support a verdict the same shall not be set aside.”
¶33. “Any insurer issuing any policy, certificate or contract of insurance, surety, guaranty or indemnity of any kind or nature whatsoever, which shall fail for a period of thirty (30) days after proof of loss has been furnished as provided in such policy, certificate or contract, to pay to the person entitled thereto the amount justly due under such policy, certificate or contract, shall in any action thereafter brought against the insurer in any court in this state for recovery under the terms of the policy, certificate or contract, pay such further amount as the court shall adjudge reasonable as attorney’s fees in such action.” (Emphasis supplied).
¶34. Halliday v. Farmers Insurance Exchange, 89 Idaho 293, 404 P.2d 634 (1965).
¶35. 92 Idaho 136, 438 P.2d 566 (1968).