16 USC 5003 - United States Commissioners

(a) Commissioners 
The United States shall be represented on the Commission by not more than three United States Commissioners to be appointed by and serve at the pleasure of the President. Each United States Commissioner shall be appointed for a term of office not to exceed 4 years, but is eligible for reappointment. Individuals serving as such Commissioners shall not be considered to be Federal employees while performing such service, except for purposes of injury compensation or tort claims liability as provided in chapter 81 of title 5 and chapter 171 of title 28. Of the Commissioners
(1) one shall be an official of the United States Government;
(2) one shall be a resident of the State of Alaska; and
(3) one shall be a resident of the State of Washington.

An individual is not eligible for appointment under paragraph (2) or (3) as a Commissioner unless the individual is knowledgeable or experienced concerning the anadromous stocks and ecologically related species of the North Pacific Ocean.

view counter
(b) Alternate Commissioners 
The Secretary, in consultation with the Secretary of Commerce, may designate from time to time Alternate United States Commissioners to the Commission. An Alternate United States Commissioner may exercise all designated powers and duties of a United States Commissioner in the absence of a duly designated Commissioner for whatever reason. The number of such Alternate United States Commissioners that may be designated for any such meeting shall be limited to the number of authorized United States Commissioners that will not be present.
(c) United States Section 
The United States Section, in consultation with the Advisory Panel established in section 5004 of this title, shall identify and recommend to the Commission research needs and priorities for anadromous stocks and ecologically related species subject to the Convention, and oversee the United States research programs involving such fisheries, stocks, and species.
(d) Compensation 
United States Commissioners and Alternate United States Commissioners shall receive no compensation for their services as Commissioners and Alternate Commissioners.